modl interview

Giavanna Ficarra

I've been waiting to get these answers for a while now, but man am I glad I finally got them! Naturally, I found Giavanna randomly on Instagram, and instantly fell in love with her work. There's something very flirty about her photos, that almost make you feel like she's flirting with you through Instagram. It's an interesting experience, and I'm glad I got to dig in a little deeper, and really get to know the real Giavanna. Check out the interview below:


Photo by: Joe Walsh



OTC: What’s your name?

GF: Giavanna Ficarra


OTC: How old are you?

GF: 24 years old


OTC: Do you consider yourself a model?

GF: No, I just like to play dress up


OTC: How did you get into modeling?

GF: My childhood friends and I would always dress up and take photos, and my IG photos organically grew from that platform. 


OTC: Who takes most of your pictures?

GF: My guru and mentor, Joe Walsh


OTC: Are you signed to an agency?

GF: No, my height precludes that relationship, unfortunately. I guess they just don't like short Italian girls? Haha 


OTC: Do you want to be signed to an agency?

GF: If it's meant to be, it will be. 


OTC: Who would you like to be signed to?

GFnewMARK models and Kitten Agency, would be my first choices. 


OTC: Where are you from originally?

GF: Santa Cruz, CA


OTC: What’s your strongest memory of your childhood?

GF: Barefoot water skiing with my dad at 5 years old. 


OTC: If you could move anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

GF: Italy: to find my future husband and live on a ranch where I would be raising my family in the nude. 


OTC: Do you travel a lot?

GF: I've just recently been infected by the travel bug! 


OTC: Which country that you’ve been to is your favorite and why?

GF: Bali, Indonesia: their lifestyle helped me to realize that less is more, as they are a genuinely happy culture without the trappings I see at home. 


OTC: Do you go to school? If so, what are you studying?

GF: I graduated from Ithaca College in NY, with a BS in Integrated Marketing. 


OTC: Do you want to focus on modeling full time?

GF: No, but photoshoots for me are entertaining, so I like to do them. My main passion is my music, as I am a vocal artist first, and model second. 


OTC: Who is your favorite model at the moment and why?

GFJessie Andrews; she embodies a carefree attitude, and is not afraid to be herself!


OTC: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

GF: In 5 years I'll be 29, and I hope to be traveling in my tour bus and making wildly artistic music videos to my own songs! 


OTC: Professionally, what’s your goal?

GF: To be taken seriously as an artist in the music industry, and create a genuine and loyal fan base. 


OTC: Tell me about the editing process for your Instagram photos

GF: I edit my skin if it looks scary, through an app called Facetune, and then run it through VSCO for their selection of filters. 


OTC: What’s the first thing you do when you wake up?

GF: Make coffee. 


OTC: Tell me about your diet and workout routine

GF: I try to stick to a plant based diet while subconsciously dreaming of steak and eggs! I lift weights to stay toned and run for cardio. 


OTC: What are 5 things you can’t live without?

GF: Sex, coffee, laughter, music and babies. 


OTC: What superpower would you have and why?

GF: Teleportation! 


OTC: What’s your scariest experience?

GF: When I was told that my Dad had been shot and killed, not by accident. 


OTC: Are you an early bird, or a night owl?

GF: I'm a vampire, so don't talk to me early in the morning. 


OTC: Sun or snow?

GF: Sun


OTC: Boats or jet skis?

GF: Boats, so I can wake board. 


OTC: Dresses or skirts?

GF: Both, but tight and short only! 


OTC: Books or movies?

GF: Movies. I do better visually. 


OTC: Hugs or kisses?

GF: Kisses 


OTC: Silver or gold?

GF: Gold 


OTC: Singing or dancing?

GF: Can't live without either!


OTC: Tattoos or piercings?

GF: Tattoos 


OTC: Money or fame?

GF: I would rather be recognized.


OTC: Washing dishes or doing laundry?

GF: Neither 


OTC: Cooking or eating?

GF: Eating - it basically became my job living with an Italian mother.


OTC: Spicy or mild?

GF: Mild 


OTC: Grammy or Oscar?

GF: Grammy 


OTC: Long or short hair?

GF: Long hair 


OTC: Netflix or chill?

GF: Chill 


OTC: Wine or beer?

GF: I prefer my family's wine 


OTC: What’s your favorite drink?

GF: Cranberry juice 


OTC: Do you go clubbing a lot?

GF: Any excuse to venture out at night and dance, I'm down.


OTC: What’s your favorite shot and why?

GF: Tequila, it makes my clothes come off.


OTC: Would you ever buy a guy a drink at a club/bar?

GF: Yes I would, but I would prefer a gentlemen buy one for me (chivalry isn't dead).


OTC: Tell me about your craziest night out

GF: We don't have enough time haha!


OTC: What’s the most adventurous thing you’ve ever done?

GF: Motocross riding in Baja, Mexico, solo.


OTC: Have you ever been skinny dipping?

GF: Some of my best and most freeing memories!


OTC: Are you single?

GF: Yes 


OTC: What does your dream date night consist of?

GF: Where the guy buys me a beautiful evening gown and we go to a crazy and wild event, where we eat amazing food and dance until our feet hurt. 


OTC: Where can people find you?

Instagram: @giavannaficarra

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh

Photo by: Joe Walsh